leadership

Dr. Margaret (Sissy) Wade

swade@headsnetwork.org

Dr. Wade has invested over three decades in the world of education. In the classroom as a teacher and as head of school for two independent schools in Nashville, Tennessee, her work and leadership have influenced and inspired many over the years. Following her retirement from the school setting, Sissy became a principal of Walker, Wade and Associates, a mission based, not-for-profit consulting firm. In December 2014, Dr. Wade was named the Executive Director of The Heads Network, which promotes active collaboration and professional growth for independent school heads and leaders committed to the education of girls and the advancement of women’s leadership.

Sissy earned both her undergraduate and doctoral degrees from Vanderbilt University. She and her husband Frank live in Nashville. They enjoy spending time with their family. They have two sons,  Jay and Will, along with Will's wife, Lauren, and her granddaughter Caroline. Sissy enjoys exercise, gardening, and watching anything sports.

our Board

of Trustees

Officers

Travis Brownley, Chair (2019)

Marin Academy

San Rafael, CA 

travis@ma.org

Mark C. Hale, Secretary (2018)

Greensboro Day School

Greensboro, NC

markhale@greensboroday.org

Autumn Graves, Treasurer (2020)

Girls Preparatory School

Chattanooga,TN

agraves@gps.edu

Vice Presidents

Alex Curtis, VP Area I (2021)

Choate Rosemary Hall

Wallingford, CT

acurtis@choate.edu

Darryl Ford. VP Area II (2019)

William Penn Charter School

Philadelphia, PA

dford@penncharter.com

Mark C. Hale, VP Area III (2018)

Greensboro Day School

Greensboro, NC

markhale@greensboroday.org

Joan Hill. VP Area IV (2018)

The Lamplighter School

Dallas, TX

jhill@thelamplighterschool.org

Tekakwitha Pernambuco-Wise. VP

Area V (2019)

Sea Crest School

Half Moon Bay, CA

tpernambucowise@seacrestschool.org

Members at Large

Joan Hill, Member At Large (2021)

Lamplighter School

Dallas, TX 

jhill@thelamplighterschool.org

Penny Bach Evins (2021)

St. Paul’s School for Girls

Brooklandville, MD

pevins@spsfg.org

Landis Green (2021)

Wildwood School

Los Angeles, CA

lgreen@wildwood.org

Wendy L. Hill (2021)

The Agnes Irwin School

Rosemont, PA 

whill@agnesirwin.org

Ann Klotz (2020)

Laurel School

Shaker Heights, OH

aklotz@laurelschool.org

Jill Muti (2019)

Ashley Hall

Charleston, SC

mutij@ashleyhall.org

Anthony Sgro (2020)

Rabun Gap Nacoochee School

Rabun Gap, GA

asgro@rabungap.org

Mark J. Stanek, (2021)

Shady Hill School

Cambridge, MA

mark_stanek@shs.org

Ex Officio

Margaret 'Sissy' Wade, Executive Director

Nashville, TN

swade@headsnetwork.org

From the

board Chair

Welcome to The Heads Network website!

 

We are delighted to have you traverse the pages of our website and share The Heads Network’s inspiring mission, “Advancing Girls and Women’s Leadership in Independent Schools!” Our mission has the ability to transform our schools and communities by striving to maximize our schools’ educational experiences and encourage and promote leadership amongst our peers and colleagues.  

 

This website is designed to invite your immediate participation, share our mission, reflect on our history and governance, communicate exciting upcoming events and encourage the utilization of The Heads Network (THN) and our website as an ongoing resource for our member schools.

 

Our members aspire to ensure each person in our school communities finds his/her own unique voice and makes a positive difference in educational institutions and beyond. We specifically work to maximize women’s leadership through seminars, conferences, ongoing resources and collegial support.

 

Thank you for visiting our site – and we hope you return many times to get involved in and celebrate the process of preparing, investing in, inspiring and advancing women’s leadership in independent schools!

contact

Margaret “Sissy” Wade

Executive Director, The Heads Network

swade@headsnetwork.org

 

(615) 533-6022

102 Wentworth Avenue

Nashville TN, 37215

© 2017 The Heads Network.