leadership

Dr. Margaret (Sissy) Wade

swade@headsnetwork.org

Dr. Wade has invested over three decades in the world of education. In the classroom as a teacher and as head of school for two independent schools in Nashville, Tennessee, her work and leadership have influenced and inspired many over the years. Following her retirement from the school setting, Sissy became a principal of Walker, Wade and Associates, a mission based, not-for-profit consulting firm. In December 2014, Dr. Wade was named the Executive Director of The Heads Network, which promotes active collaboration and professional growth for independent school heads and leaders committed to the education of girls and the advancement of women’s leadership.

Sissy earned both her undergraduate and doctoral degrees from Vanderbilt University. She and her husband Frank live in Nashville. They enjoy spending time with their family. They have two sons,  Jay and Will, along with Will's wife, Lauren, and her granddaughter Caroline. Sissy enjoys exercise, gardening, and watching anything sports.

our Board

of Trustees

Officers

Joan Hill, Chair (2021)

Lamplighter School

Dallas, TX 

jhill@thelamplighterschool.org

Anthony Sgro, Secretary (2023)

The Asheville School

Asheville, NC

sgroa@ashvilleschool.org

Autumn Graves, Treasurer (2023)

St. Anne's Belfield School

Charlottesville, VA

agraves@stab.org

Ann Klotz, Member at Large (2023)

Laurel School

Shaker Heights, OH

aklotz@laurelschool.org

Vice Presidents

Geoff Wagg, VP Area I (2024)

Waynflete School

Portland, ME

gwagg@wayndflete.org

Darryl Ford. VP Area II (2022)

William Penn Charter School

Philadelphia, PA

dford@penncharter.com

Jill Muti, VP Area III (2022)

Ashley Hall

Charleston, SC

mutij@ashleyhall.org

Percy Abram, VP Area V (2024)

The Bush School

Seattle, WA

pabram@bush.org

Members at Large

Travis Brownley (2022)

Marin Academy

San Rafael, CA 

travis@ma.org

Matt Byrnes (2024)

Wooster School

Danbury, CT

matt.byrnes@wooster.org

Jennifer Ciccarelli (2022)

Columbus School for Girls

Columbus, Ohio

jciccarelli@columbusschoolforgirls.org

Penny Bach Evins (2024)

Collegiate School

Richmond, VA

penny_evins@collegiate-va.org

Ereni Malfa (2022)

St. Paul's School for Girls

Brooklandville, MD

emalfa@spsfg.org

Jill Muti (2022)

Ashley Hall

Charleston, SC

mutij@ashleyhall.org

Tekakwitha Pernambuco-Wise.

Wyndcroft School 

Pottsdam, PA

tpernambuco-wise@wyndcroft.org

Kim Wargo (2024)

The Lab School 

Washington, D. C.

kim.wargo@labschool.org

Ex Officio

Margaret 'Sissy' Wade, Executive Director

Nashville, TN

swade@headsnetwork.org

From the

board Chair

Welcome to The Heads Network website!

 

We are delighted to have you traverse the pages of our website and share The Heads Network’s inspiring mission, “Advancing Girls and Women’s Leadership in Independent Schools!” Our mission has the ability to transform our schools and communities by striving to maximize our schools’ educational experiences and encourage and promote leadership amongst our peers and colleagues.  

 

This website is designed to invite your immediate participation, share our mission, reflect on our history and governance, communicate exciting upcoming events and encourage the utilization of The Heads Network (THN) and our website as an ongoing resource for our member schools.

 

Our members aspire to ensure each person in our school communities finds his/her own unique voice and makes a positive difference in educational institutions and beyond. We specifically work to maximize women’s leadership through seminars, conferences, ongoing resources and collegial support.

 

Thank you for visiting our site – and we hope you return many times to get involved in and celebrate the process of preparing, investing in, inspiring and advancing women’s leadership in independent schools!

IMG_3348.jpg

"The Heads Network is a thought leader in the movement

to promote the value of female leadership in education." 

~ Tekakwitha Pernambuco-Wise

Sea Crest School

Half Moon Bay, CA